Saturday, June 13, 2009

Stages of Acceptance

No Milk Mama wrote on her blog about mourning phases with food allergies. Here is my view of stages of acceptance of food allergies:

Not us we (eat organic, breastfeed, no family history) these things may reduce chances of having children with allergies but do not eliminate the possibility of them having allergies

Why us, we didn't put those chemicals in food, invent GMO foods, why does our family have allergies.

Ok we will just get a plastic bubble and nothing will happen (not good solution)

My child will never eat ice cream, order take out freely or participate fully in parties.

We will find interesting foods, and be more aware of what is in our food. We will find ways around social situations to allow our child to participate. We will travel on our terms, in a way we feel safe.

From Winkpedia: The Kübler-Ross model, or the five stages of grief, postulates a series of emotions experienced by terminally ill patients prior to death, wherein the five stages are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.

Most experts agree acceptance is more complex than this, however I felt that The Kübler-Ross model from an allergy perspective would be interesting.

1 comment:

FPIESmommy said...

You hit the nail on the head. Great post.